Tracks Menu

From Audacity Development Manual
Jump to: navigation, search


Tracks Menu provides commands for:
  • Creating and removing tracks
  • Applying operations to selected tracks such as mixing, resampling, converting from stereo to mono, aligning or muting
Click, or hover, on any menu item in the image to read about that command.  Skip the image
Transport MenuTracks MenuGenerate MenuEffect MenuAnalyze MenuHelp MenuExt-Bar MenuExt-Command MenuMenu BarAdds a new trackMixes down selected tracks to mono or stereo tracksAllows you to resample the selected track(s) to a new sample rate for use in the projectRemoves the selected track(s) from the projectMutes or unmutes audio tracks in the projectPans left right or center audio tracks in the projectCommands that provide an automatic way of aligning selected tracks with the cursor, the selection, or with the start of the projectSorts all tracks in the project from top to bottom in the project window, by Start Time or by NameEnsures that length changes occurring anywhere in a defined group of tracks also take place in all audio or label tracks in that groupTracksMenu.png
To change properties of individual audio tracks, such as gain and pan, View Mode (such as the default Waveform view) and channel display, use the Audio Track Dropdown Menu in the Track Control Panel.


Add New  

The Add New submenu provides commands for adding stereo or mono tracks, label tracks and time tracks.

See Tracks Overview for details of the different kinds of tracks.

Mix  

The Mix submenu provides commands for mixing and rendering your selected tracks to a singlestereo or mono track.

Resample...  

Allows you to resample the selected track(s) to a new sample rate for use in the project, leaving the length (and hence playback speed and pitch) unchanged. To resample for export, change the Project Rate in Selection Toolbar.

Remove Tracks  

Removes the selected track(s) from the project. Even if only part of a track is selected, the entire track is removed. You can also remove a track by clicking the X in its upper left corner.

To remove only the selected audio in a track (without adding it to the clipboard) use Edit > Delete or either Split Delete or Silence Audio at Edit > Remove Special.

Mute/Unmute  

The Mute/Unmute submenu enables you to mute or unmute all of the tracks in your project in one go, without having to use the buttons Mute and Unmute in each track's Track Control Panel.

Pan  

The Pan submenu enables you to change the panning of all the tracks you have selected or partially selected, in one go, without having to use the Pan sliders in each track's Track Control Panel. The panning choices are extreme Left or Right pan or Center pan. If no tracks are selected, pan is changed in all tracks.

Align Tracks  

The Align Tracks submenu provides a set of commands to help you align your selected tracks in various ways. In particular there are two very useful commands that enable you to align tracks end-to-end, one after the other, or align them all together.

Sort Tracks  

The Sort Tracks submenu provides commands to sort your tracks by Track Names or the tracks' start times.

Sync-Lock Tracks (on/off)  

The Sync-Lock Tracks feature ensures that length changes occurring anywhere in a defined group of tracks also take place in all audio or label tracks in that group, even if those tracks were not selected. This lets you keep existing audio or labels synchronized with each other, even when carrying out actions like inserting, deleting or changing speed or tempo. You can turn this feature "on" or "off" (default is unchecked "off") by clicking this menu item. See Sync-Locked Track Groups for more information.