Edit Toolbar

From Audacity Manual

Jump to: navigation, search


These tools perform the same functions as those accessible through the Edit Menu, View Menu, Tracks Menu and keyboard shortcuts.
Click on the toolbar image below to see this toolbar displayed in context of the default upper tooldock layout.
Layout of Edit Toolbar buttons with all buttons active (this is a non-default image), click on the image to see this toolbar displayed in the default context of the upper tooldock layout

The above image shows all buttons active in order to display them more clearly. However in a new project with no audio present or selected, only the Sync-Lock Tracks button would be bold (active).

The Cut tool  Cut  Edit > Cut or CTRL + X

Removes the selected audio data and/or labels and places these on the clipboard. By default, any audio or labels to right of the selection are shifted to the left.

The Copy tool Copy Edit > Copy or CTRL + C

Copies the selected audio data and/or labels to the clipboard without removing these from the project.

The Paste tool Paste  Edit > Paste or CTRL + V

Paste either inserts the clipboard contents at the position of the selection cursor, or replaces a selected area with the clipboard contents.

The clipboard can only contain one item at a time, so cutting or copying to it always replaces any previous content. However that content may contain multiple audio tracks and/or label tracks of indefinite length, or multiple audio clips.

The Trim tool Trim Audio  Edit > Remove Special > Trim Audio or CTRL + T

Trim Audio deletes all audio but the selection. If there are other separate clips in the same track these are not removed or shifted unless trimming the entire length of a clip or clips. Does not affect label tracks.

The Silence tool Silence Audio  Edit > Remove Special > Silence Audio or CTRL + L

Silence Audio replaces the currently selected audio with absolute silence. Does not affect label tracks.

The Undo tool Undo  Edit > Undo and CTRL + Z

Reverts the last editing operation. Audacity supports unlimited "stepwise" undo. This means you can undo every editing operation back to the last time the project was opened, but you can't undo one particular edit without also undoing any changes made after that edit. You can review your editing history and jump straight back to any particular edit point at View > History....

The Redo tool Redo  Edit > Redo or CTRL + Y (on Mac SHIFT + CTRL + Z)

Restores the previous editing operation that was just undone. Note: If you undo an operation then perform any new one that appears in the Undo History, you can no longer redo that undone operation.

Sync-Lock Tracks tool Sync-Lock Tracks  Tracks > Sync-Lock Tracks

Enables the Sync-Locked Track Groups feature. This ensures that length changes occurring anywhere in a defined group of tracks also take place in all audio or label tracks in that group, even if those tracks were not selected. This lets you keep existing audio or labels synchronized with each other, even when carrying out actions like inserting, deleting or changing speed or tempo. You can turn this feature "on" or "off" (default is "off") by clicking this button to highlight it.

The Zoom In tool Zoom In  View > Zoom In or CTRL + 1

Zooms in to a higher magnification level. You can continue to zoom in until you reach the level of displaying individual audio samples.

The Zoom Out tool Zoom Out  View > Zoom Out or CTRL + 3

Zooms out to a lower magnification level. You can zoom out so far as to fit 228 hours of audio on the screen.

The Fit Selection tool Zoom Selection  View > Zoom to Selection or CTRL + E

Zooms a selection region in or out so that it fits in the available horizontal window area. The button is therefore grayed out unless a selection region is made.

The Fit Project tool Fit Project  View > Fit in Window or CTRL + F

Zooms in or out so that the entire audio of the project fits in the available horizontal window area.

Views
Useful External Links